Menu Plan Monday

Happy Monday everyone! This is going to be a great week! This will be the next to the last time you will hear from me this week as we will be welcoming our fourth little blessing into our home! I will be posting a very special book review for Until We All Come Home by Kim De Blecourt, probably tomorrow or Wednesday. The book itself is set to release in November. You can check it out on Amazon, just click here. I read this book in less than 24 hours. It is a book about a family’s journey through adoption: a true story. I cried, and still cry, when I think about all they went through and endured as a family for a full year before gaining legal custody of their son. God is so good! Please stop back by and read this review this week. I will also post a video linking back to the book’s trailer. In that video you will get to see the precious little one they welcomed into their home. I was blessed by this book and I know you will be too.

As I recover, I may post randomly here and there just to give you updates. Don’t expect much from me though as I am taking this time to recover and bond with our newest little guy. I can’t believe we are going from a family of 5 to a family of 6. It seems a little surreal and overwhelming yet at the same time I could see one or two more. This past weekend we spent finishing up those last minute items that needed to be taken care of before he arrives: haircuts for the Things, sanitizing bottles, and washing car seat covers. I am so very glad I decided to end homeschooling last week. I needed the break and my Things needed some extra attention from me as we ready ourselves. They know the change is coming fast and each of them are competing for attention, love and reassurance. The older ones already know that I will be in bed recovering the first week. The littlest Thing has no concept of what is to come. Either way, I am very thankful for the Man who will be taking 3 weeks off from work to be here and support me. I am SUPER thankful for my sister who is going to single handedly wrangle my three Things while I am in the hospital. This isn’t her first rodeo with us so she knows what to expect: still, not being the mom she will be tested and tried by the boys. Of that I am certain. Please say a few prayers for her this week!

This is our menu plan for the next two weeks. A little over half of these meals are already prepped in the freezer so that who ever is cooking (the Man or my sister) can just dump the contents into the slow cooker. I did a freezer session about two months ago to help prepare our family for the next two weeks. When I do any sort of freezer cooking, I post my menu plan and the recipes on this Facebook Page. This last time I had a freezer session I threw together some crock pot meals, pre-made meatballs, fried extra chicken, made way too many carrot spiced muffins for lunch, made a week’s worth of mini sausage pancakes. I feel like they are fully prepared in my absence this week. This gives me relief so I that I can focus on my health our our new child. The links are provided below, just click on the meal you want the recipe to.

Breakfast:

Sausage muffins (freezer already made just warm up in the microwave for 15 seconds)

Cereal

French toast sticks

Sticky buns (prepare the night before)

Pop tarts

Snacks any 2 of these:

yogurt

granola bars

sliced cheese

pretzles

graham crackers with Peanut butter

bananas

fruit roll ups

Lunch:

  1. Caramel rice cakes with peanut butter spread, grapes, 2 carrots, raisins and gold fish
  2. Cinnamon Raisin bread sandwich with peanut butter and banana (only banana on Thing 1 and Thing 3’s), veggie straws, apple slices
  3. Apple sandwich (apple slices with peanut butter and raisins), ham and cheese slices (1 sandwich sliced into sticks split with the 3 kids), 2 carrots with ranch
  4. Hot dog slices, apple slices, 2 carrots, cheese- dippers for ketchup and ranch
  5. Ham and cheese skewers, a spiced carrot muffin (already made in freezer), yogurt
  6. PB & J with fruit, gold fish, cheese yogurt
  7. Spiced carrot muffins, edamame, ranch veggie straws

Repeat for week 2

Dinner:

1. pizza

2. French toast stuffed with nutella

3. Fried Round steak, mashed potatoes, gravy and salad with a banana cream pie for dessert

4. Crock Pot potato soup

5. Crock Pot Salisbury steak and mashed potatoes

6. cereal or left overs

7. Fried chicken and mac and cheese (already made and frozen)

8. Tex Mex beef wraps (already prepped just ready to be dumped into the crock pot)

9.-11. Garlic herbed roasted chicken (already prepped just ready to be dumped into the crock pot)

3 meals in one- Roasted butter herbed whole chicken and veggies

Mix butter and herbs desired in a small bowl. I added salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder, a dash of crushed red pepper and fajita seasoning. Layer your vegetables at the bottom of the freezer bag, smother butter over your chicken and lay on top of veggies. Make sure to rinse your chicken and remove the bag of parts from the chicken before freezing unless using a cut up chicken. When you are ready to slow cook your chicken, dump the contents of your bag into your slow cooker and set to low and cook for 8 hours. This meal will count as one as we will 1/3 of it- then I will use the left over chicken to divide into two additional meals- tortilla soup and chicken salad sandwiches.

12. Sphaghetti and meatballs (the meatballs are already made and frozen)

13. Finnish pancakes

14. pizza

15. Crock Pot Chicken and dumplings

16. Thursday- Cinnamon French Toast bake

Everyone enjoy their week! Don’t forget to check back to read the book review!

3 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday

  1. Wow Tara, you are superwoman! I will be praying for you & Paul, baby Liam, kiddos and of course Heather! Love to you all.

Leave a Reply

