More Soup!

So, I tried out another soup recipe tonight. At first, I was a little skeptic about this soup recipe because it called for Creamed Corn and I do not like Creamed Corn- however, do not be fooled.

Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
Adapted from All Recipes

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 onion, chopped

3 tablespoons margarine

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

3 (14 ounce) cans chicken broth

4 cups half-and-half

1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of chicken soup

1 cup fresh salsa (I used one can of Rotel Tomatoes)

1 (15 ounce) can creamed corn

6 boneless, chicken breast halves – cooked, skinned (I used a Rotisserie Chicken Lemon Pepper flavor from my grocery store)

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 (1.27 ounce) packet dry fajita seasoning

3 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro (I just used 2 tbs of what I had in the spice container)

16 ounces tortilla chips (I got the strips for a crispier taste)

8 ounces shredded Monterey Jack cheese

DIRECTIONS

Sauté the garlic and onion in the butter or margarine in a large soup pot. Add flour while stirring.  Then add your half and half and chicken broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low.

Add the rest of the ingredients (except the chips) and stir. Heat for 15 minutes.

Add your tortilla chips and cheese. I put cheese in the bottom of my bowl before the soup and on top of the soup with the cilantro.

Hope you enjoy this as much as I did.

I have also been working on  Thing 1’s fall outfit. I just finished the top- the jumper- tonight. I have to still make matching pants and  Thing 2’s matching outfit. Lots to do 🙂

Here is a picture of the jumper. I can’t wait for her to wake up so I can try it on her.

Leave a Reply

