Menu Plan

I have been having a hard time creating my meal plans lately for two reasons: 1) I am finding myself too tired to cook at the end of the day 2) Thing 3 doesn’t always want to eat what I take out in the morning to prepare for dinner. This go around it was especially difficult to make up my menu because I knew I only cooked half of what I had planned to cook the last two weeks. I set out on an adventure through the web to find great crock pot recipes last night. I have tons of energy in the morning but as my day wears on I am too tired to start a meal. I thought if I can find great meals to cook in the crock pot, this will no longer be a problem. So for the next two weeks I have four meals that I have designated just for the crockpot, one breakfast meal that will be super easy to whip up and a few meals for the days where I really do want to cook. I am especially excited about trying out a new bbq recipe that has the eastern Carolina vinegar based bbq sauce with the shredded chicken that I am making in the crock pot. I am using crock pot recipes that I gathered from the new site that I stumbled across last night called A Year of Slow Cooking. Blogger/author Stephanie O’dea has created this great site to host some of her recipes that she published in her book.

So here is what we are having:

1. South Carolina style bbq, squash casserole, fried okra and biscuits
2. Chicken tortilla soup (made with the shredded pork that I am making for the bbq)
3. Chicken fajitas (made with the shredded pork that I am making for the bbq)
4. Pork Tenderloin & rice
5. Cranberry roast, mashed potatoes and salad
6. Chinese
7. Garlic roasted chicken with potatoes and carrots
8. Sticky buns and breakfast (these aren’t my normal sticky buns, I am trying out a new recipe)
9. Tequila Lime chicken, broccoli and green beans
10. Strawberry buttermilk pancakes
11. Salisbury steak and asparagus with roasted potatoes
12. Cajun chicken Alfredo
13. tbd
14. tbd

Leave a Reply

