Sewing time!

sewsensible.net

A few posts back I was planning to make Thing 1 a Valentine’s Day outfit. At the time, I was simply going to sew some ruffles onto a pair of jeans and add an appliqué to one of her shirts. Well, I had decided I wasn’t going to have time to do that after all and had given up on the idea of a Valentine’s Day outfit. Then the other day, I was rummaging through my sewing stuff and found some patterns that I had misplaced. Aimee at SewSensible had sent two patterns my way to test out. One was for a pair of boutique bottoms and the other was for a Faith shirt. I had misplaced them after receiving them in the mail and thought that they were gone forever. I couldn’t believe I found them. I pulled out the pattern and looked it over. I was right in the middle of getting dinner started and I decided I could whip these pants up. So, I happened to have some Valentine’s material from last year that I never used so in between prepping my chicken for roasting, cutting potatoes and onion, I cut the fabric. My kids were watching a DVR’d version of Little Einstein’s during this time. I cut the material out and decided they were still busy enough for me to go ahead and iron the fabric for the ruffles. At this point, I was amazed at how quickly it was going. After I ironed, I looked at my timer and I still had about half an hour before my roasted chicken and potatoes were done. The kids were happily playing in the family room by themselves so I thought, do I dare pull out the machine and get started. I decided I would and if I couldn’t finish I would not get upset, I would just do as much as I could. So I sewed. By the time my timer went off and my husband walked in the door my pants were sewn together. All that was left was trying them on my daughter to make sure the fitting for the elastic was correct so I could sew up the hole where I inserted the elastic. I waited until after dinner to do this and while the kids ate ice cream for desert I finished the pants! Literally, I believe it took me an hour. Thing 1 is absolutely in love with her new outfit! Aren’t those bottoms cute?!!

I can tell you from my experience in trying to make a pair of pants exactly like these in the fall with another pattern, that Aimee’s pattern was SUPER EASY!! The way that her instructions are listed with clear photos and her actual pattern, it’s really hard to make these pants take longer than an hour. When I used the other pattern for Thing 1’s fall pants I got angry with the instructions because I couldn’t understand them and I believe they took me about 3 hours to make. I remember thinking, “well, I’ll never do that again.” Aimee’s patterns are for the beginner sewer. You don’t have to have sewing experience or have taken any classes in order to make children’s clothes using her patterns. That is why I am now totally in love with her designs. If you have thought about sewing before and you are just scared, please try out one of her designs. Her patterns can be delivered to you in the mail or through acrobat reader to save on your computer. If you don’t have acrobat reader, her site provides you with a link that you can use to download the program for free. Her patterns are budget friendly and I promise you won’t be sorry you decided to do it. You have nothing to loose. Don’t let fear stop you from making these cute cute creations.

I am going to provide you with two links to make this SUPER easy on you! The first link will get you straight to the page where you can order the boutique bottom pattern that I used to make Thing 1’s Valentine’s Day bottoms. The second link is a link that will get you to Aimee’s Blog where you can view all of her patterns. She has a Sunday dress pattern that is to die for and will be my next project! She is also coming out with some new patterns in the next two months so check back for new stuff.

Boutique-Bottoms-Sewing-Pattern
SewSensible Blog

Leave a Reply

