Crock pot chicken and dumplings

Last night we had Crock pot Chicken and Dumplings. I have wanted to try this recipe for a while, but never got around to it.

It was easy, budget friendly and wait for it… good. I have been eating chicken and dumplings since I was a kid. I have tried a few of these recipes before and didn’t really like them. Paula Deen has one for drop dumplings that I wasn’t a fan of. This one turned out pretty good.
I used skinless, boneless chicken breasts. 
I also used diced onions and didn’t remove them as the recipe said.
It was so good that we ate everything in the whole crock pot! There were no leftovers to be had. 
I have a funny story to share about chicken and dumplings. So, Paul, my husband, is originally from Michigan. Poor thing, he didn’t know about the goodness of southern foods. I, who had never spent much time across the Mason Dixon line before we met, didn’t know that people up north didn’t know about soul food. I thought everyone ate like we did. We are a fried, butter loading, cheese using, bacon grease using, lawrys seasoning, calorie filled, generational recipe using bunch. I took him out to lunch with my best friend, Alicia, at the best BBQ place in town. For those of you not from the south- BBQ in the south is pulled pork. It was a buffet. We arrive and I grab my plate, Alicia gets hers and Paul gets his. Alicia and I are off. We start loading up on all the goodness that the buffet has to offer: fat back, fried okra, bbq, chicken bog, sweet potato casserole, collards, squash casserole, biscuits, you know.. all the good stuff. After stacking our plates full of the good stuff, we get our sweet tea (because that is all you drink in the south) and sit down. Paul is still in line. Finally he starts walking very slowly to the table. I check out what’s on his plate. I look at him like it must be a joke and bust out laughing. He sits down with us. Alicia see’s why I am laughing and she joins in. We are the only one’s laughing. Paul is just sitting there with a bewildered look on his face. I stop- realizing something is wrong. I said, “Hon, why did you put chicken and dumplings on top of your rice?” I will never forget it… he looked like a kid… he says as honestly as he could, “I have no idea what this stuff is! I have no idea what any of that stuff is up there. You just left me in line and I don’t know what I am eating.” I am laughing as I type this, remembering that moment. I eventually took him back up there and explained what it all was. He is now very skilled in soul food- he can even cook it 🙂 I trained him well. He can even eat collards and black eyed peas with the best of them. Anyway, I thought I would share that story. I will forever have that memory attached to chicken and dumplings. 
Leave a Reply

