Vegetable Tempura

I was a brave brave soul tonight. You would be proud of me if you really knew how scared I am of cooking with grease. I should take that back. I am not afraid of grease when it’s in a deep fryer. I had to get rid of my deep fryer because it was so old (they don’t even make them that big anymore). I haven’t wanted to go and buy a new one just yet so I have had to fry the old fashioned way- the way that has me shaking in my boots hovered over the stove with one hand on the lid and the other on a sack of flour. Tonight I used a lot more oil than I did with the hush puppys (still wondering about the correct spelling of this word.) I have been a sushi craving fool lately. I made the tempura as a way to sort of put a stop to my cravings. I am trying so hard to behave and stick to my budget.

I found this great tempura recipe. I didn’t have to buy anything fancy to make it. I already had everything I needed to get going. So here is the recipe.

Tempura Batter recipe:
Recipe adapted from http://japanesefood.about.com/od/tempura/r/tempurabatter.htm



Ingredients:
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup cold water 
  • 1 cup  flour
Preparation:
In a bowl beat your egg and add your ice water. If you get water from the sink, let it sit in the freezer for a while. All of the ingredients need to be very cold. Mix lightly while adding  sifted flour. Do not overmix. 
Makes 4 servings
I watched a few videos online so I could make sure that I knew what I was doing. I also wanted to see some of the different recipes being used. After watching a video or two about making the batter for the tempura I did one thing different from the recipe’s instructions. I put my flour in the freezer while I chopped up my veggies and got everything ready. I learned that everything needs to be really cold- that’s what makes it different than just frying the good old southern way. I also learned that when you mix everything together you shouldn’t try to get all of the lumps out of the batter. 

I hope you can see there are still lumps in my batter. This recipe allowed me to cook just about all of my veggies. 


I used one sweet potato, two squash and one zucchini. Also, in case you didn’t know (because I didn’t, I had to look it up) peel the skin off of the veggies first. 


I was really happy with the end result even though it took a ton of courage to continue to make the whole batch of veggies. I am so glad I did it and it was well worth every second of panic I experienced. I guess at some point I am going to become completely comfortable with a pot of grease… I am just not there,  yet. I didn’t make the traditional sauce that you dip it in- I just used Soy because that is what I use in the restaurants anyway 🙂 I served this with PW’s spicy shrimp
Leave a Reply

