Dinner and Lunch Menu

It’s time for school in the Norman house. As I am preparing our dinner menu I am also thinking of what will go in Thing 1’s lunch box. I decided the best way for me to know what I am going to pack for her each day and to ensure I buy all that I need for her lunch, I am going to plan her lunches for 2 weeks like I plan our meals. A bit over- organized you say? Um, guilty…. but for the very best reasons. I need to make sure I know what I am doing come 6am. I am not a morning person, remember? We don’t normally see the sun rise at our house. This is going to be a HUGE challenge for me. I have been T.R.Y.I.N.G. to wake up at 6am this week…. it happened once. FAIL! Yes, I just couldn’t do it. I needed to eat my lunch at 10:30am and I was ready for nap time by 11am. Yeah, so next week should be very interesting around here.

So here are my menus:

Dinner:
1.) Root beer chicken, baked potato asparagus and rolls
2.) Chicken salad sandwiches and potato wedges
3.) Curry chicken & broccoli cheese casserole
4.) Slow cooker stuffed pasta shells
5.) Sticky coconut chicken over rice
6.) Crock pot chicken Alfredo with spinach
7.) Chicken parmesan over spaghetti
8.) Italian beef wraps
9.) Hamburgers and french fries
10.) Tuna sandwiches and fruit
11.) Green eggs and Ham (we will be reading this as a bedtime story)
if you want to make this- use blue food coloring in your eggs
12.) Chicken spaghetti (PW recipe.. it was so easy, cheap and a hit)
13.) Calzones (PW recipe… again cheap, easy and a hit)
14.) Brisket and scalloped potatoes (PW brisket- the man requested it)

Lunch (These are listed as sides and sandwiches):
1.) Penut butter and jelly wrap
2.) Cream cheese, sliced ham and carrot wrap
3.) Snail sandwiches (http://familyfun.go.com/back-to-school/back-to-school-lunches-snacks/lunchbox-snacks/snail-snack-686884/)
4.) Animal chips (http://familyfun.go.com/back-to-school/back-to-school-lunches-snacks/lunchbox-snacks/animal-chips-685863/)
5.) Hummus
6.) Bugs on a log (celery w/penut butter and raisins)
7.) Cookie dippers (Vanilla wafters dipped in a homemade yogurt)
8.) Chicken and fruit salad
9.) Waffle sandwich
10) Penut butter and honey sandwich
11.) Penut butter and banana sandwich
12.) Grilled cheese with cucumber and sprouts sandwich
13.) Homemade granola bars
14.) granola and yogurt


I have told her that she is to bring home everything that she doesn’t eat so I can find out if it was too much or if she just didn’t like it. Some of these things she has never had before so we will be doing a trail basis on some of the sandwiches. I am trying new things out with her because I want her to be excited and love every part of school… even the notes in her lunchbox that she has requested every day 🙂

Leave a Reply

