Pasty… what is it?

Pasty… weird name, right? You are probably wondering what I am about to blog about. I am going to give you a recipe to my man’s favorite childhood meal, a pasty. The pasty originated in Cornwall. It was a meal that was made for lunch (talk about a heavy lunch) for miners. It is said that they would come to the surface covered in dirt and would hold on to the crust part of the pie to eat so that they wouldn’t get their whole meal covered in dirt. The pasty was also used to keep the miners warm… they would stuff the pocket in their jackets and hold onto it until the next meal. (so wikipedia and the man says).

So that’s great and all but you still don’t know what it is. It’s like a southern pot pie without the peas, chicken and juice. It’s a pie made with beef and vegetables. When we go up to northern Michigan (way way up north… like 2 hours from Canada north) they don’t come in the form of pies, they come in the form of pockets. You can pick one up at a gas station, in the form of a pocket (like the miners would have had it) wrapped in foil or wax paper. Unlike picking up cooked food from our gas stations, you will not get sick and you will love it and appreciate it’s warm goodness in the dead of winter during a blizzard… I know this to be true from my trips up there.

Want to know how to make one?

I use a rolled out pie crust
1 lb of ground beef
carrots (dice them small) (I use about 1 1/2 carrots)
onion (I use 1/2 a large onion)
celery (I used one stick)
potatoes (slice them as thin as you can, then dice them up).. (I used two large red potatoes, peeled)
butter (tub butter people-don’t show up with the stick stuff)
salt and pepper

Place your pie crust in your pie pan. I start with a layer of potatoes, onion, celery, carrots- then salt and pepper, THEN I put some beef (uncooked) in there…. then butter. Lots of little slices of butter.. more salt and pepper and I begin the layering again. If you don’t dice and slice your potatoes into small pieces you may have to bake your pastie longer.

Once you have run out of room or ingredients, place your other pie crust on top and pinch the sides together. Slice an x on top of the pie crust for ventilation and bake at 350 for an hour or until your veggies are cooked.

Ya’ll this was the best pasty I have made to date. I started learning how to make these when the man and I first got married. His mom was showing me how to make the crust from scratch. This was a great meal.

The great thing about these pies is that you can change the filling up. Sometimes we throw in squash and zucchini. Have a vegetarian you are feeding? Leave out the meat and fill it with lots of veggies. Its a great dish and other than the slicing and dicing, it’s pretty simple, yet very hearty.
2 thoughts on “Pasty… what is it?

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday « MommyTime

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday « MommyTime

Leave a Reply

