Baked Stroganoff

Beef stroganoff. It’s not my favorite dish. It’s good, but I have never been wowed over a beef stroganoff.  In fact, I can’t remember a time where I had seconds of any beef stroganoff.

I had a recipe for beef stroganoff, but I didn’t have all of the ingredients. I was missing like 5 of the ingredients so I played around last night and made a batch of beef stroganoff that I had 3rds of. The kids ate. I ate. My sister ate. We polished off a very deep casserole dish of beef stroganoff. Ya’ll ready?

Baked Stroganoff

Ingredients:
1 spoon full of butter (you know me, tub butter all the way)
1 tbs minced garlic
1lb ground beef
1-2 soup spoon fulls of flour (I didn’t actually measure but I know I was using one of the larger spoons and I am pretty sure I used 2 soup spoon fulls. I was eyeballing it).
1 can of beef broth
About a tbs of Rosemary
2 soup spoon fulls of cream cheese and about a little less than 1/4 cup of milk
About a cup of mozzarella
Egg noodles

Preheat the oven to 350.

In a skillet brown your meat. Drain the grease and add some salt and pepper (to taste), garlic and Rosemary. Let it cook into the meat for a minute. What I am about to tell you goes against the grain for making gravy so just trust me when I say,  just do it.  Add your one can of beef broth. Don’t stir just yet. Add your flour but be sure to sprinkle it all over the meat and don’t stir. Let it sit for a minute. Your flour is going to sink into the broth and start to bubble. Let it. Now after 1-2 minutes stir it. Now, add your cream cheese and milk. You want the cheese to melt so continue to stir and  leave it on medium heat until it’s melted. You want the sauce to simmer a little bit, but not come to a hard boil. Remove from heat once your cream cheese has melted.

Make your egg noodles. You want them cooked but not overly soft because you are going to bake them and they will cook some more in the oven.

Cover the bottom of your casserole dish in butter  (not melted) and cheese. Now add your noodles making sure to mix the noodles in with your cheese and butter. Ok, go ahead and add your meat sauce. Stir it to ensure all of your noodles are well coated. Take a quick taste to make sure you don’t need any more salt. 🙂

Cover and place in the oven for 30 minutes.

If you make it, I would love to know your thoughts. Especially if you are a beef stroganoff fan (I’m not huge fan but did like my creation).

Leave a Reply

