Autumn Herbed Chicken with Celery and Squash

Ahh fall. Don’t you just love it? I would love it a lot more if we actually lived in a place where the leaves turned and the cool temps meant in the 50’s and not in the 80’s. Oh well, I am doing the best I can with what I have to work with. I don’t know about you, but my cooking changes with the seasons. I love soups and dishes with nuts in the fall and in the winter I love heartier meals cooked with red wines. This is a fall dish for sure and better yet, it goes in the crock pot! A win win!

Autumn Herbed Chicken with Fennel and Squash
Adapted from Costco Connection


3 chicken breasts or thighs (I used breasts and a friend who made this the same night as me threw in some sausage)
Salt and pepper to taste
Flour as needed
olive oil
1 stalk of celery (recipe actually calls for fennel but I shop at Walmart and they don’t carry it so I always substitute for celery)
1/2 of a butternut squash- I used the whole thing (uncooked, diced and skin peeled off)
1 tsp of thyme
3/4 cup of walnut or pecans
3/4 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup apple cider or juice
rice or pasta (I used fettucine)
rosemary

Coat your chicken with salt, pepper, and flour. I like get one of those freezer bags and throw my salt, pepper, flour and chicken into it it and shake it up. Make sure your oil is hot enough in your skillet and brown your chicken on both sides and place in your slow cooker.

In the meantime, cut up your squash (this is a big task). The best way to do this is to peel the skin off the squash with a knife or potato peeler and then dice the squash taking care to remove your seeds. Add to your crock pot with your celery, thyme, walnuts or pecans, chicken broth and apple cider or juice. Cook on low for 5-7 hours. I would check on it at 3 hours. I cooked mine (thawed chicken) for 4 hours on low and my chicken was falling apart and my walnuts were mushy. The recipe says to cook on high for 2 1/2 – 4 1/2 hours. Again, if your chicken is thawed, I would check on it in an hour. If frozen, look at it after 3 hours. My friend cooked hers for 4 hours on high and she said the texture was mush.

Serve over rice or pasta and sprinkle your rosemary on top. I had to add additional salt to mine once plated.

One thought on “Autumn Herbed Chicken with Celery and Squash

Leave a Reply

