Menu Plan Monday

I will be cooking from Jessica Seinfeld’s new cookbook, Double Delicious, for the next two weeks. We have been eating out WAY too much because of contractors in our house and the house showing so I decided it’s time to shock our systems with some veggies. My kids won’t eat them if they recognize them which is why I LOVE this cookbook. We get great meals with veggies hidden in them!

Here is my menu:

1.) Pot Roast
2.) Honey mustard chicken and red potatoes
3.) Chicken and biscuits
4.) Chicken staty, rice and veggies
5.) Chicken Parm over noodles
6.) Creamy chicken, green beans, stove top and biscuits
7) Lo mein
8.) Chicken Cannelloni
9.) Baked Ziti
10.) Pizza
11.) Grilled chicken, asparagus, corn and biscuits
12.) Bacon and eggs
13.) Leftovers
14.) Leftovers

3 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday

  1. thanks, I didn't realize that she had another cookbook. We really like the first one. Do u have all those purees on hand though? After making baby food for all those years, I was kind of excited about not having to make baby food. Oh well, just a little longer, I guess. My kids LOVE the banana peanut butter muffins, but hate carrots! They didn't even notice. I loved it!

  2. No, I used to when I started using her first cookbook but do not now. I bought all of the vegetables needed (to puree) for all of the meals and I am steaming them and pureeing them as I cook each meal. Example: Last night we had her Creamy Chicken. It calls for a squash puree. I bought an acorn squash and steamed it in my steamer at lunch and separated a cup for our meal and a cup for Thing 3's meals and put it in the refrigerator. When the recipe called for the puree, I just dumped the 1 cup in. Tonight I am making Lo Mein and it calls for a 1/2 cup sweet potato puree, I am going to steam the sweet potato while the chicken cooks in the pan. I'll split and freeze the rest of the puree (should be about 1.5 cups left) for Thing 3's food and the rest for another recipe. Hope that makes sense.

  3. Thanks for the suggestions. That makes perfect sense, if only I had another baby to freeze the leftovers for! lol. I don't think so, but that is another topic. Hope all the recipe's turn out good, I cannot wait to get the new cookbook!

Leave a Reply

