South Carolina Vinegar Based Pulled Pork- Slow Cooker Style

1/4 onion chopped
1 tbsp white sugar (you can use brown if you have it)
1 tbsp paprika
1 tbsp liquid smoke
1 cup apple cider vinegar
1/3 cup Worcestershire
1/2 tbsp crushed red pepper flakes (I like my BBQ with a little kick so omit this if you don’t like it that way)
1/2 tsp dry mustard
1 tbsp minced garlic
salt and pepper to taste
1 pork butt or shoulder roast (I grab whatever is on sale)
Chop your onion and set it in the bottom of your slow cooker. In a large bowl mix your sugar, paprika, salt and pepper together. This will be your rub. Use your hands y’all, it will wash off, I promise. Set your roast on top of the onion in your slow cooker. Now mix the rest of the ingredients together: liquid smoke, apple cider vinegar, Worcestershire, red pepper flakes, mustard and garlic. Pour half over your roast and refrigerate the rest. Place the cover on your slow cooker, set it to low, and let it go… for the next 6-8 hours. When it’s done take it out of your crock pot and let it rest and cool.
Split it in half and take two forks and pull it apart. If you really know what you are doing ~wink, aren’t you glad you have me here to walk you through it~ when you are shredding it, you will place the side of the meat that does not have the rub on it (what was the center) down on your cutting board so you don’t lose your rub on your board in the process of shredding. Once you have shredded all of your pork, place it in a container that has a lid to it. Pour the juice from your crock pot on to your shredded pork, grab the rest of your juice from the fridge and pour that on there too. Stir it. Let it sit in the refrigerator for 24 hours.  Here is the trick that no one will tell you. If you can wait, do it. It gets better with time. If you put the crushed red pepper flakes in there it will have a little kick to it after the first 24 hours. After 48 hours it’s perfect and I do mean perfect.
We went to Sea World over the weekend. I put this in night before, went to bed and turned it off when I woke up around 7am. I shredded it, and let it marinate while we were at Sea World all day. When we came home we had sandwiches. I froze half and we ate off of the rest of the for two more days.
You can’t eat this with out the fixings so let me share the recipes I used for my fixings.
Old Fashioned Macaroni and Cheese. Click on the link and it will take you to the recipe… good grinds right there
Now this one is an oldie but goodie. We had marinated tomatoes as well that night. Growing up my Nonnie and my mom would pick cucumber, tomato, and bell pepper from our garden. They would also add some onion, olive oil, sugar and apple cider vinegar with loads of salt and pepper. We called it Goulash. It’s another one of those comfort foods for me that I haven’t had since leaving home for college. I hadn’t thought about it in years until I ran across a post on someone else’s blog about marinating tomatoes. I didn’t have time to actually think about what I was doing.. I saw the very large tomato I picked up at the Farmer’s Market on Saturday sitting in the fridge and just went to it.
Slice your tomato(s). I only used one for this because that is all I had and the two of us (the man and I) ate off of this for the next 24 hours. In a container (with a lid) add salt and pepper, I used my fresh basil and Thyme from my little window sill herb garden (use what you have), about 1/4 cup of olive oil, about 1 tbsp of lemon juice,  2 tbsp of apple cider vinegar, about three green onions (just the green), a tsp of sugar and a tbsp of minced garlic. I know that I added more of something to get it where I wanted it but I am not sure what. The above was just estimates of what I threw in there. I didn’t measure when I was doing it.
When you first taste it, you will taste the shock of the vinegar, lemon then the sugar and that’s all. Let it marinate for 24 hours before eating it. As we sat at the dinner table that night I was trying to explain to the kids why the man and I were so happy about our meal. I was telling Thing 1 that even though she wasn’t born in South Carolina and may never live in South Carolina, she will know what soul food is and WILL learn how to cook it. She doesn’t even realize she’s going through southern belle training. Before she leaves my house she will appreciate a good home-grown tomato sandwich, fried okra and squash, good BBQ, chicken bog, country ham, sweet tea made from the coffee pot, and learn how to fit a piece of cucumber in every sandwich. This along with some family recipes that I will pass down. They boys will learn how to smoke a hog so I can finally have a real pig picking 🙂 y’all have a great weekend! You won’t hear from me until Monday. Try this out over the weekend and do it up Southern style with a tall glass of iced sweet tea.

If you haven’t yet, please type your email in the box below the Mommy Blogger Director button on the right. That will ensure you receive my posts in your email! Don’t worry, I promise not to blog EVERY day 🙂
7 thoughts on “South Carolina Vinegar Based Pulled Pork- Slow Cooker Style

  1. YUMMY! We used to get a good laugh in when our friends in Tx would tell us they were “southern”! The only place you could find sweet tea was at Cracker Barrell! and they considered brisket to be barbeque?!?!? go figure- we love them anyways it was just fun telling them what we considered bbq to be! Will have to try the tomatoes sometime soon!

    • After blogging about the tomatoes I had to whip up some more for tomorrow’s dinner 🙂 I just now finished throwing it together to go in the fridge. Yes, I love Texas but brisket is bisket. BBQ is BBQ 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. just made this for sunday dinner. Smells delish. Tim is bbq snob (he’s been eating it since he was a toddler @ roger’s) so tomorrow will be the true test..hahaha only thing I changed? No red pepper…my big boy Bryson is super sensitive to hot, and I sliced a lemon and put it on top of the meat while it cooked why? Tim ‘s fave homemade recipe had lemons that soke in the brine…that and I thought it made it look pretty 🙂 thanks Tara! This might check a recipe off my list I’ve been needing!

  3. Tara, my husband LOVES BBQ and I’ve never made it before. Well that’s about to change. Thanks to your recipe, I’m making it today. It’s going in the crock pot now.

    The question is – will he let it sit for 24-48 hours. I don’t think so. 🙂

    • Awesome, Alicia! You’ll have to let me know what he thinks! Good luck keeping his paws off of it. After it has been cooking for a few hours your house will start smelling good and it will be so hard to leave it alone for that long. If you bought a big pork butt or shoulder you can eat off of it for a few days (or freeze it). I usually get about 4- 6lbs for us.

      • Tara, as soon as he got home, he said, “What’s that?” The next thing I knew he was cutting himself off a piece of the pork even though it wasn’t fork tender yet. After I tried a bite, we ended up making a couple of sandwiches. It’s that delicious! What’s left is still in the crock pock. I can’t imagine how good it will taste tomorrow or the day after – if it lasts that long.

        By the way, when I went to the pantry, I discovered I didn’t have all the ingredients. We only had smoked paprika, so I used that instead of the regular kind. And I didn’t have any Worcestershire. I quickly looked up the ingredients online to see if I could mimic it. I used 1 Tbsp of dark molasses, 1 tsp of chili powder and 1 shallot finely minced. It still tasted great!

        Thank you for the recipe. Oh and Marco is here with me and he says thank you too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

