Slow Cooker Chicken and Rice

Right before we moved, I started to miss my slow cooker. I genuinely love my one pot meal cooker! I am always on the look out for great tasting slow cooker meals.

If you haven’t found her yet, you should look her up over at southernplate.com. Christy Jordan wrote up a blog post for Slow Cooker chicken and Rice. I just about fell out of the chair I was homeschooling my 5 1/2-year-old in. It was a creamy chicken bog. WHY DID I NOT THINK OF THIS?!

I don’t know how to follow directions, it’s not in my nature (which is why I can’t figure out that Dyson vacuum)… I know at this point you are either confused or laughing at me so I will continue… here’s how I did it.

There’s only 5 ingredients in this recipe. Chicken, butter, onion, Mushroom soup, and Rice a Roni.

Publix had the chicken with skin and bone on sale when I made this recipe. I bought all the chicken you see in the crock pot for around $3. They also had a BOGO deal going on the Rice A Roni which is why I picked that rice.

First, I melted some butter, for those who don’t keep up, I mean the tub stuff. Sticks are for wimps. Why? I’m not sure. I thought it could use some though.

De-skin (I will pause to ponder whether that is a word or not.  I’m pretty sure it’s probably not but I’m going with it) your chicken.  Place your chicken in the bottom of the crock pot with your onion (you can use onion powder), melted butter (only if you want it) and your mushroom soup. In case you didn’t know, I am really weird about my chicken. I refuse to cook my chicken neck-eeed. I have to throw a seasoning, something, on it before I start to cook it. Um yes, I used too much butter. TOO much butter. Don’t use my picture as a comparison for how much butter. I guess you could call me butter happy like you say someone is coma happy… I digress.

Picture above is without the mushroom soup on top, don’t forget that. Set your slow cooker to low and let it go! Since I used thawed chicken it took about 4-5 hours before it was fully cooked. If you are using frozen chicken it may take 6-8 hours for it to cook through. My chicken was literally FALL-N off the bone when I checked on it. See?

This actually saved me time. If you used chicken on the bone like me, it’s now time to de-bone it. I like to try to make sure all the nasty brown pieces and cartilage go out in the trash too.

Once you have separated the chicken from the bone you can now throw it back in the pot. It’s time to add your rice. If you chose to go with a plain white rice (which is fine, you probably have it on hand), you may want to throw in some herbs and spices. I like that the Rice A Roni has its own seasoning pack. I went with the Wild Rice, but it truly does not matter.

Let that cook for about 30 minutes or until cooked and serve. This is one of those get going on Sunday morning before church kind of meals. Easy and good.

3 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Chicken and Rice

  1. I can’t wait to try this ( and probable on a Sunday morning!) oh- how I wish we had publix here!!! such great deals! I love seeing your garden also- we examined ours up close today and found some tiny plants coming up (pretty sure it is my spinach! what kind of tomatoes did you plant? I really want to try tomatoes but there are sooo many different varieties- that it scares me off each time- silly- I know but it does! Have a great night!

  2. I am growing beef steak. They are my favorite!! I have 6 tomato plants (all beef steak) total (one cilantro for home made salsa). If you get the beef steak, you won’t regret it. Lowe’s has them. I haven’t tried to grow spinach before! Exciting! I am seeing something pop up in one of the bare spots, but I can’t remember what I planted there. It’s either corn, broccoli, or carrots. I’m so stinkin’ excited to start seeing stuff grow! In August we will plant our Jack-O-Latern seeds. The kids are SO excited to be able to grow those as well.

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday « MommyTime

Leave a Reply

