Citrus Chicken: A Taste of Summer

I always like to have one or two slow cooker meals on my menu plan for times such as a sick child or an overwhelmingly busy day. I had a sick baby boy this week. I am so glad I had planned for a slow cooker meal because boy did he need attention. I was able to throw together a masterpiece of a meal to look at and one that could be served in any restaurant, with a very sick little guy.

This recipe would be a hit at any restaurant with all of the citrus that is in it. I had fun decorating my bird with slices of lemon and lime… did I mention I had a sick baby? The most time investing part of this recipe was slicing up some fruit. We are talking a 10 minute total prep- that’s stretching it.

Thing 2 got on a step stool to look at it before I placed the lid on the pot. He said, “It’s buyaful mom.” Even a child could recognize a masterpiece when he saw it.

If your hunny came home to this cooking away in your slow cooker, he would simply be impressed with how pretty it was and how good your house smelled. Then I think you would probably get ignored while he ate. Iv’e come to realize that you know it’s good when they ignore conversation and don’t come up for air until it’s gone.

This piece of summer in your mouth recipe comes from Rachel at Southern Fairy Tale. Hop over to her blog. She has lots of great recipes to browse through. If you are on Twitter, look her up & follow her.

What you need:

The only thing not pictured was the garlic.

I used 3 mandarines

3 lemons

3 limes

1 tbsp of minced garlic

1/4 yellow onion (Use onion powder if you don’t like the texture of onion)

about 6 Rosemary stems

salt and pepper to taste

1 whole chicken (mine was just under 5lbs)

First throw a few slices of onion, lemon, lime, mandarin, Rosemary and garlic on the bottom of your slow cooker.

Rinse the bird with water, pat dry with a paper towel. Stuff her with onion, garlic, lemon, lime and a mandarine. If you have room, shove in some onion and Rosemary. Place her in your slow cooker. You can’t leave her neeeeked! Sprinkle some salt and pepper on her quick!

Time to really dress her up, after all, she is going to be centerpiece at your dinner table tonight. Add the rest of your lemon, lime, garlic, onion Rosemary and mandarine in the pot all around and some on top of her. You want to encapsulate her with the smells and tastes of citrus goodness.

Once you are satisfied with your arrangement…

Place the lid on, set to low and cook for 8 hours. Even the rinds are cooked so that you can eat them with a bite of chicken!

I served this with corn on the cob (Publix has them 12 for $3 this week!!), sliced potatoes baked with olive oil and salt, and rice. I added rice to my slow cooker about 40 minutes before it was time to eat. Since I wasn’t sure if there was enough liquid, I added 1/2 cup of water as well. The chicken, the taste, the smell… this is just something you have to try. Happy slow cooking!

8 thoughts on “Citrus Chicken: A Taste of Summer

  1. You’re too cute!

    I’m so happy this recipe was such a hit and I hope your darlin’ one is feeling better!

    My kids thought it was ‘booyaful’ too 😉 My daughter told me I needed red peppers and eggplant to make it a rainbow 🙂

    Happy Monday and thank you so much! ❤

  2. Pingback: Dinner On The Table In No Time : Family Meal Planning and Simplifying Life With Kids

    • I added 1 cup for my family (2 kids ate this under 6 and the man and I). When you buy your rice, look on the back. It should tell you exactly how many cups of dry rice you need to feed X amount of people. Don’t quote me on this, but I think 1 cup feeds 2 people, 2 cups feed 4 etc..I can’t remember and I store my rice in a container so no longer have my bag. Does that help?

Leave a Reply

