Relief, Forgiveness and Love…

I have thought about what I wanted to write all morning. You had to know I was going to write something about the recent news of Bin Laden’s death. I know that my Facebook comment did not sit well with some of you. In case you missed it:

“It’s interesting how times have changed. I learned about his death through FB. I watched the President on CNN Live on my computer & am instantly watching everyone’s reaction through FB again. So many seem excited… to a fault. While I am with you on the wickedness and hurt he caused, in the end he was still a person. father, a husband and someone God loved enough to send His Son to die for. In the end, his sin was no greater than ours and there’s no turning back for him. I am sad his life ended before he knew peace with God.

13 hours ago · Like · 3 people

Please do not misinterpret my feelings on the matter. I am not being tolerant nor am I ignoring the feelings of relief, joy, and closure of those directly affected by 9/11. My comment stemmed from seeing a series of comments in my FB stream that were rather heartbreaking to me. Just a quick sample of the some statements I saw in my FB feed between last night and this morning included, “May you rest in hell”, “Hell called and their VIP guest has arrived”, and the most disturbing to me, “Wrap him in bacon and hang his body at Ground Zero.”
 I do not wish hell on anyone. Why would you? If you aren’t a Christian and you said or thought any of the above, do you even understand what that statement means? If you are a Christian and you took joy in the fact that he is in hell, then what does that say about you? Aren’t we (those who have accepted Jesus as our Lord and Savior) supposed to be different? Aren’t we supposed to love everyone? Aren’t we supposed to hate the sin, not the sinner? Yes, I am all about punishment for our sins hence why I believe that I need Jesus to go to Heaven. My sins are just as bad as his. I understand the evil things this man did, I understand the hurt he caused this nation but to usher his death in with statements of excitement because he is burning in hell for all eternity is upsetting to me. Proverbs 24: 17-18, “Do not rejoice when your enemy falls, and let not your heart be glad when he stumbles, lest the LORD see it and be displeased, and turn away his anger from him.” I am eternally grateful that God sacrificed His Son so that I could be forgiven, John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” He gives me grace even though I am undeserving of it. He sees me for who I am and the good bad and ugly that comes with me and still is willing to love me and cast my sin into the deepest part of the ocean (never remembered again) Micah 7:18-19. God loves each one of us alike and is willing to forgive each of us no matter the sin because no one sin is greater than another. If you haven’t yet, now is the time to get to know my loving Father. If you would like to have joy unspeakable, peace unsurpassing, forgiveness, guidance and love I know exactly who you should talk with. I am more than happy to help you walk through that prayer.
My friend, Jana Debney, said it very well in her blog: Just Makin’ It. I stand with her and her feelings about this. She put it so much more nicely than I could so I urge you to read her post.

One thought on “Relief, Forgiveness and Love…

  1. I am so blessed to have you as a friend. As you know, I am so frustrated by the reactions of Christians on this matter, but I feel that I have said my peace. To say more on it would only make people listen less. 🙂 Keep representing the Lord in such a wonderful way, Tara. Thank you for sharing, and thank you for the shout out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

