Fried Pork Chops

You know those super thin pork chops? They really are great for frying.  If you try to bake them you really have to keep your eye on them because they will dry out and burn in a second if you aren’t paying attention. I am always looking for something good to put on those. The day that I was over at Southern Plate for the Chicken Fettuccini recipe, I saw her recipe for House Autry Pork Chops. So easy and the kids actually liked these a lot. Thing 1 and Thing 2 ate one whole pork chop a piece with no complaints. Was it because of the mix or because it was fried… who knows, my kids are southern because of the way I cook so if it’s fried, it’s will be consumed by them. I can say that the man liked the onion flavor and told me he liked them twice in between bites of corn.

What you need to make this very easy, cost efficient dinner!

House Autry Hushpuppy Mix. Brilliant idea! I bet instead of using flour on my zucchini and squash this would be good too. Maybe even coat some potatoes with this. So many things to try! Be sure to get the onion flavored kind.

Now you aren’t going to grab the eggs and milk for this. Confusing, I know. Hard habit to break for a good southern cook. For this you simply need the mix.

Pour some mix in a plate and start dredging your pork chops, one by one. Use thawed pork chops before you start dredging and frying.

Heat your oil in a skillet. Make sure it’s nice and hot. I throw a pinch of my flour (or in this case the House Autry) in the skillet. If it starts to bubble up then I know it’s ready. Carefully place your pork chops in the hot skillet. You could probably fit all of your pork chops at once depending on how man you  bought. I had four so it worked out nicely. You will want them nice and brown on each side.

See how my chops aren’t quite brown in the middle? I needed to flip them and fry them some more on that side. How long on each side? Somewhere between 3-5 minutes. Mine took about 5 minutes each side.

I served mine with macaroni and cheese, black-eyed peas and corn.

One thought on “Fried Pork Chops

  1. Pingback: Pork Chop with Pomegranate Glaze « Weight Loss Solutions You Need

Leave a Reply

