Princess Themed Party Food Part Two: Wands and Dip

The man and I celebrated 8 married years together two days before Thing 1’s birthday. He got me an Edible Arrangement. I knew there was no way I was going to finish eating it before Thing 1’s birthday so I was trying to think up ways to use it. Then I happened upon a cute idea while digging around the internet, fruit wands! Yes! They could be the Princess scepter. Great. Then I saw where someone cut a cantaloupe open and placed a dip in the middle! WINNING (sorry, I just had to). So I rocked out my cantaloupe. Here’s how you do it.

First slice the skin off the cantaloupe with your knife. Yes, do it. It’s not hard and it looks prettier if you do. Slice the cantaloupe in half and cut the bottom off of ONE of the sides so that it will sit flat. Scoop out the seeds and fill with your favorite dip, yogurt, or melted chocolate.

I had plain yogurt on hand so I added some honey and some red food coloring.

Then just place your filling inside one of the halves of cantaloupe.

Before I finish, if you are doing a boy’s party just make the yogurt the color of the boy’s party. I am already thinking up blue for Blue’s Clues, Red for Spider Man, Yellow for Sponge Bob… It’s an easy snack and healthy!

Flip the other cantaloupe upside down (side that had the seeds facing the plate).
Take some fruit and put them on wooden skewers. Place the skewers in the cantaloupe so that they are sticking out. I used the Edible Creations skewers and Ta Da!

My presentation was met with excitement when I told her what they were. Easy y’all and just plain cute.

Leave a Reply

