Buttermilk Syrup

I ran out of syrup the other day and didn’t want to make a trip to the store for just one item so I started googling how to make syrup. I came across this recipe and decided to give it a go.

Buttermilk Syrup Recipe:

Adapted from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients

1 cup white sugar or 1/2 cup Splenda (Galit I got into your stash but there’s plenty left for your next trip)

3/4 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup of butter

2 tbsp corn syrup

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp vanilla extract

Combine all ingredients and bring to a boil.

At first it will look like this:

As it comes to a boil, it will start to turn a golden brown and will have a foam on top. It’s ready at about that point. Remove from heat. It should look like this:

I cleaned my old syrup bottle and added my homemade syrup to the bottle to store in the fridge.

This syrup will last about a week. Make it as you need it. As you can see for large portions of pancakes, you will need to make more. To adjust servings, make ingredients divisible by 4. Add fresh fruit or pecans to your pancakes to take them to the next level of breakfast (or in our case dinner) goodness!

One thought on “Buttermilk Syrup

  1. Saving this recipe for the future. What a great way to cut back on another cost! I already have those ingredients (well, except for the buttermilk, but I can make that myself), so making syrup sounds great! Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

