Crunchy Taco Casserole

I had planed on making a normal non crunchy taco casserole. I have no idea what possessed me to throw Doritos into the mix, but at the last-minute I did. If you are going to make this, eat it as soon as it is ready. Otherwise the Doritos will get soggy and it’s just not as good. I can safely say the kids really liked it because they thought it was a treat to have Doritos somehow included in their meal. The man liked it and took leftovers to work for lunch the next day. I liked it as soon as it came out of the oven but wasn’t a fan of the warmed over version. Soggy chips and I are not good friends.

The contenders:

The only guy missing is the Doritos. Like I said, last-minute impulse.

Cook your beef adding a packet of taco seasoning at the end. Prepare according to the back of the packet. While your meat is cooking cook your noodles. These are the noodles I had on hand. Use what you have. Drain your noodles and add to the pan with the beef. Give it a good stir to combine everything. In a casserole dish add a layer of Doritos.

I use the Nacho brand because that is the only kind the kids will eat but feel free to explore a different kind.

Add your meat and noodles to the dish (over the Doritos). Sprinkle cheese on top.

I ran out of cheese, otherwise the dish would have been loaded up.  Be generous with the cheese on top.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until the cheese has melted. Serve.

Leave a Reply

