Little Cutie Grape Flavored Hens

I bought a whole bag of Little Cuties the other day at the grocery store. They are great for snacks, easy to peel and low in calories. I had envisioned my kids gobbling them up. That didn’t happen. So, I decided to great creative and this is what happened.

What you will need:

3 cornish hens (chicken is fine too)

4 little cuties

onion

1 cup grape jelly

1 cup chicken broth

thyme

fresh parsely

1 tbsp butter

1/4 cup Orange Juice

Salt and pepper

Pre heat your oven to 350. Wash, pat dry and salt and pepper your Cornish hens. Cover with foil and place them in the oven. Set the timer for 30 minutes.

Peel your little cuties and add them to a skillet with about 1/4 cup chopped onion, about a tbsp of butter, some fresh parsley (dried is fine. Mine came from my garden), dried Thyme and sauté until the onion is translucent.

 

Now add about a cup of grape jelly and a cup of chicken broth. Stir.

 

You will want your grape jelly to cook down to a liquid before adding your orange juice. After you add your 1/4 cup of orange juice, heat throughly and it should look something like this.

One of the “lessons learned” is that I should have covered my hens with foil for the first 30 minutes. They browned too quickly on the outside before the inside was cooked. After your timer goes off for the hens, turn your oven to 400 degrees and remove the hens. Pour your mixture over the hens.

Cook uncovered for another 30 minutes or until the internal temperature of the hen is at 180.

If I had covered my hens with foil for the first 30 minutes they wouldn’t have been so brown on top once they were ready. They tasted fine but they didn’t look as pretty as they should have.

 

The beauty about my little creation is that the kid’s ate the little cuties with no issues. Why? Because they tasted more like grape jelly than anything else. The hens were super moist and had a sweet flavor to them. I think next time, I may even try this in the crock pot. This would be a perfect fall recipe! The whole time I was making the sauce I kept thinking of fall. The aroma of the sauce had Thing 1 saying, ” I can’t wait to try it, it smells so good.” She also told me “That was the best chicken I ever had.”

Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

