Pork chops that taste like French toast

I am sitting in the playroom surrounded by toys, trucks, blocks and kids playing pretend. Today they are pretending they are heading to Mexico to put out fires. I’m not quite sure how they pick where they are going each day, but they do and they are both whole heartedly in on the adventure. Thing 3 is in charge of the fire truck and the dump truck today. He sits near enough to be content with their presence and far enough away that they won’t seek interest in his trucks so he can have them all to himself. I am very blessed to be sitting at home watching these three little Things do what they do best, play.

It’s Friday, normally I try not to cook too much or bake but I feel like I am making up for lost time this week with a sick hubby and a sick Thing 2. This morning I have already made a loaf of bread and plan on making the Cream Cheese Pound Cake. Tonight we are having the Chili Cheese Tater Tot Casserole. I have been craving fall foods. I think I am just ready for cooler weather. Not sure how much of that I am going to get here, but still yearning for it. I am having to hold myself back from decorating for fall.

Last night I made an oldie, but goodie. Apple glazed pork chops.The first time I ever made this dish my first thought was of French toast. Not only is it good, but the kids like it because it has the sweetness of the apples on the meat.

Let’s get to recipe.

Apple Glazed Pork Chops
Adapted from the Williams Sonoma Bride and Groom First and Forever Cookbook

For the pork:
3-4 boneless pork chops (I use the thick ones)
1 tbsp Rosemary
2 tbsp Brown Sugar
Salt & Pepper to taste (I use about a tsp of each)
For the glaze:
1 tbsp bacon grease- butter will work if you don’t have the grease in a coffee cup in your fridge 🙂
1/4 tsp Cinnamon
2 apples (recipe calls for red but I used green apples last night and it was just as good)
1 cup chicken broth
A little less than 1/3 cup jam (original recipe calls for apricot jam)
Pre heat oven to 325.

Thaw your pork chops. In a small bowl, mix your brown sugar, salt, pepper and Rosemary. Using your hands, rub the mixture on the fronts and backs of your pork chops. Let them sit for 15 minutes. The original recipe instructs you to then rinse your chops. I skip that step and leave the tenderizer on the meat and bake them in that goodness.

While the pork chops cook, the sugar bakes into the pork creating a thin glaze/syrup. About 15 minutes before your pork chops are cooked through (my pork chops were super thick so I cooked them at a lower temperature (325) for a little over 1 hour) start your apple glaze. Chop your apples into small pieces. The smaller the apple slices the quicker it cooks. I leave the skin on, but you can peel if you would like. In a small sauce pan, stir your bacon grease (or butter), apples, jam, cinnamon, and broth. I used my homemade strawberry jam. The original recipe calls specifically for apricot jam. I didn’t have that so I used my home-made strawberry jam. I believe I threw in a little less than  1/3 cup.

Stir frequently until the apples and broth create a thick sauce.

You want your apples tender but not mushy (about 15 minutes). Pour the sauce over the pork chops and serve.

I served this with steamed vegetables and acorn squash. Delicious late summer, early fall recipe.

3 thoughts on “Pork chops that taste like French toast

  1. Pingback: Today’s Serving of Bacon Wrapped Pork Chop « Hamsters on the Titanic

  2. Pingback: People's Republic of Snarkistan | Today’s Serving of Bacon Wrapped Pork Chop

  3. Pingback: Today’s Serving of Bacon Wrapped Pork Chop: Psy Ops Awesomeness – Sunny in Kabul

Leave a Reply

