Stuffed Artichoke: How to make it and eat it

Stuffed Artichoke. What do you know about Artichokes? How do you normally eat artichoke? I eat it in dips, cooked with my chicken, but I have never had it stuffed or whole.

I love artichoke and thought maybe I could make a stuffed artichoke for dinner. I don’t mind being transparent with you and telling you I had no idea how to cook an artichoke much less eat a whole one. I have always bought the artichoke hearts in a can or a jar. I have never bought a whole artichoke before. Little did I know… little did I know.

I pulled from a few recipes. I threw in a few surprises. I ate a couple of chocolates while waiting for it to cook. I broke up a fight between Thing 1 and Thing 2 and I put down and woke up Thing 3 from a nap. Finally, it was time to chow down.

Stuffing an artichoke is like a creating art with food. You’ll see what I mean.

What you need:

2 whole artichokes

To stuff the artichokes:

2 cups Italian Bread crumbs

2 cloves of garlic, pressed

3 tbsp of Parsley

1 cup of Parmesan

3 tbsp of olive oil and more for drizzling

1/4 tsp of salt and pepper

For the blanching:

2 bay leaves

1/4 tsp lemon juice

1 tbsp minced garlic

About 1 tsp of basil

Take a look at your artichoke. Do you see any fingernail looking things on the ends of your leaves? If so, snip them off with your cooking scissors. I had one artichoke that had them and one that did not. Grab a large pot and fill it with water. Add your garlic, lemon juice, basil and bay leaves. Submerge your artichoke and blanch for 20 minutes over medium heat.

While they are blanching, get going on your stuffing. In a medium bowl mix all of your ingredients.

Once your artichokes are done blanching, set them on a cutting board to cool. Once cooled, it’s time to get to work. Roll up your sleeves because it’s going to get messy.

First, trim the stem.

Why didn’t you just do that in the beginning? Because you are going to cut it up and mix it into your stuffing. First peel off the skin around the stem and chop up the rest.

How do you stuff an artichoke? Spread the leaves out like this.

I started at the top and worked my way to the bottom. I used a spoon to transfer the stuffing into the artichoke.

When you are done it will look like this.

Told ya it was messy 🙂 Now to get them in the oven. I used two bread pans to put them in. You don’t want them to fall over in the water in the oven. It will come out a soggy mess. Use something that will help keep them upright. My bread pans worked perfectly for this! Add some water to the bottom of each pan, some minced garlic, basil and a bay leave for each pan. You can use the same water you blanched them in or start over.

Set your stuffed artichoke in the pans of water.

Carefully put the tin foil on top.

Cook at 450 degrees for 30 minutes then remove the tin foil and cook for another 10 minutes. Top with additional cheese, basil and parsley. You could also serve with a little dish of marinara for dipping.

How do you eat an artichoke…. so glad you asked. I actually had to look this up myself! Rather than rewording how to do it I am giving you the link. It’s complete with pictures. How to eat an artichoke.

What were our thoughts on this… well, it wasn’t like a slam dunk for us. The Man doesn’t like artichoke to begin with, but I am determined to change that. If we had a side of marinara to dip it in I am positive we both would have enjoyed it more. The filling was dry and the marinara would have been perfect with the filling and the taste of the choke. If you are going to make this, make one and use it as an appetizer and most importantly, serve with a dipping sauce.

One thought on “Stuffed Artichoke: How to make it and eat it

  1. Pingback: I was at the horseshoe in Tunica ms and we ate at a place called Cafe Sonoma.?

Leave a Reply

