Kale, Sausage & Lentil Skillet

I’ve finally tried Lentils. I went full throttle two weeks ago and  I started with Lentil soup. We liked it so I started looking for other recipes with Lentils and I came across this one over at Eating Well. We tried it this out and I thought it was really good. Of course I modified it because that is just who I am. The Things liked the sausage (and… that’s about it), the man liked everything but the Kale (I saw that one coming the minute I saw it had greens). It was easy, cheap and it is a one pot meal. That means it’s a keeper for our family 🙂 regardless if it grosses everyone else out to eat healthy 🙂

Click below for the original recipe:
Kale, sausage & Lentil Skillet
Adapted from Eating Well

Sausage
1 medium onion diced or sliced thinly
2 tbsp minced garlic
A dash of red pepper flakes
About 3 tbsp Emeril’s Essence this is my new favorite seasoning! I put it on EVERYTHING!
4-5 cups of water
2 chicken Bullion cubes
1 cup Lentils
1 colander of washed Kale
Salt & pepper to taste

Heat your skillet to 350 degrees. Cut sausage into 1/2″ pieces. Brown on both sides.

Remove your Sausage, add onion, garlic and red pepper flakes and cook until translucent.

Add water and chicken Bullion cubes. Bring to a boil & scrape up any brown bits from your skillet with a rubber spoon.

Turn down your tempature on your skillet to 250 degrees and let your broth simmer for about 4 minutes. Add your Lentils, sausage and the rest of your spices and cook partially covered for about 40 minutes.

Right before your timer goes off prepare your Kale. I dumped about a half of a bag into a colander and rinsed it off.

Once your timer sounds, add your Kale and cook covered until your Lentils are cooked. Add more water as necessary. They will need 10-20 minutes of cooking time. Tada! Seriously healthy and I loved it!

One thought on “Kale, Sausage & Lentil Skillet

  1. Pingback: Chive Chicken « MommyTime

Leave a Reply

