Slow Cooker Chimichangas

Chimichangas! This was a good one! Was it authentic, nope, but we aren’t living in Texas anymore and this is going to be the best we can get for a while so this is my substitute for the real thing. To my readers who have the real recipe in their recipe box, SHARE! We are feeling deprived of real Mexican food and I am doing the best that I can, but…

Here’s my make do until I can make it right:

What you need:
Chicken
Taco Seasoning
Olive Oil
A Dash of Cumin (if you don’t have it in your stock, skip it)
Onion Powder
Salt and pepper
2 cans diced tomatoes
Small tortillas
Shredded Cheddar

Preheat oven to 425

I used a whole chicken but you can use boneless skinless breasts. Wash your chicken. Using your hands, rub some olive oil on your chicken. Mix your taco seasoning and other dry spices in a small bowl. Rub your chicken with your spice (top and bottom of your chicken). Set your slow cooker to low and cook until your chicken is cooked through. For me, this was a two day process. I made the chicken one night and finished making the meal the next.

Shred your cooled chicken. In a large pot add your tomatoes and chicken. I cooked it on medium heat to cook off some of the liquid from the tomatoes.

Once it has thickened a bit, get your tortillas ready. The best way that I found to do this was to hold your tortilla in your hand, using a slotted spoon dish out enough to fill the middle. Add desired amount of cheese on top. For us, the more the better. Start wrapping your tortilla up like a present. Fold your ends under and place on a greased baking sheet.

Keep an eye on them because mine were ready to be flipped in 3-4 minutes. Bake them on the other side for the same amount of time. Remove and let cool. If I had remembered to grab the avocados, I would have loaded ours up with avocado, sour cream and more cheese. Since that was not the case we ate them like they were, with some Spanish rice.

These pictures are making me hungry. This was a keeper for us! The man really like them- his thoughts were, “They’re not real chimichangas, but they are good!” The Things ate it with no complaints so to me, it’s a winner.

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Chimichangas

  1. Pingback: The Indian Slow Cooker: 50 Healthy, Easy, Authentic Recipes (Kindle Edition) - Metabolic Cooking Fat Loss Cookbook Program - Fat Loss made Easy with Excellent Recipes !!!! - Metabolic Cooking Fat Loss Cookbook Program

Leave a Reply

