Oven Baked Corndogs

I skipped yesterday’s post. My new rule is that if I don’t get it written the night before, it has to wait. I desperately need my day time schedule to stay where it’s at without any more additions. Fitting a morning blog post in there isn’t an option. But you are in luck. I am organized tonight and you will get to read this recipe in the morning! I happened to catch a quick Rachel Ray show the other day while I was waiting at the Dr.’s Office and saw her make these. I fell in love and had to try them out. Here is her original recipe:

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 boxes corn muffin mix, 8 1/2 ounces each, such as Jiffy brand
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 stick butter, melted
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder (eyeball it in your palm)
  • 2 teaspoons cumin (eyeball it)
  • 2 teaspoons cayenne pepper sauce, such as Frank’s Red Hot
  • 2 scallions, finely chopped
  • 8 jumbo pork or beef franks
  • 1 bag reduced fat potato chips, such as Cape Cod brand or Terra brand Garlic and Onion flavor Yukon chips
Serves 4

PREPARATION

Pre-heat the oven to 425°F.

In a shallow dish, combine the muffin mix with flour, then stir in the eggs, milk and melted butter. Season the mix with the chili powder, cumin, cayenne and scallions. The batter will be a thick, sticky biscuit dough.

Place a hot dog in the bowl of batter and swoosh it around to coat it. Remove the coated dog to a nonstick cookie sheet and use your fingers to spread the batter on any exposed dog spots. Don’t coat it too thick, just shy of a half-inch should do the trick. If it’s too thick, it will just slide off the dog while it’s baking, leaving the dog exposed. If that happens don’t sweat it, they will still taste great. Repeat until all eight dogs are coated. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until evenly deep brown all over.

I used this corn muffin mix.

I used the Extra Long Hebrew National Hot dogs (the only hot dogs allowed in our home– Thing 2’s rule, not mine). For the seasoning instead of Cayenne I used Emeril’s Essence.

Dipped my dogs in that yumminess and into the oven they went.

Here’s a tip. Really let them cool. I tried to serve them after they were a little cool and the mix was literally falling off of the hot dog. The extra ones that I left on the pan to cool were perfect with every bite. The corn mixture stayed on the hot dog like deep fried corn dog. What did the Things think? My biscuit eater (Thing 3) LOVED these. My picky eater (Thing 2) immediately started removing the corn mixture when he realized his precious was covered in some yellow stuff. Thing 1 was a perfect lady and tried it (she’s not really a fan of hotdogs to begin with) and politely said it was not her cup of tea. Me, I decided these were great! I made these when the man was out of town a few weeks ago. I could seriously make these once a week, but I had such mixed reviews from my peanut gallery that I feel it best to use this as a monthly rotation recipe.

One thought on “Oven Baked Corndogs

  1. Pingback: Corn dogs | Suburbhomestead's Blog

Leave a Reply

