Homemade flour tortillas

Ever find yourself really wanting fajitas and you are out of tortillas? That was me today. That’s actually me, a lot of the time. Usually it’s as simple as grabbing everyone and running to the store for tortillas, but it was raining. So what does a mamma do when it’s raining, it’s 4:00pm and the Things are plundering your pantry like pirates looking for doubloons? I grabbed my phone and looked up tortilla recipes. I was excited to see this recipe called for staples that I had in my pantry. Four ingredients? Yep. That’s it. For the Texas people, these won’t compare to yours, your grandmas, HEB or Papasitos. Oh how I wish I could get some good Texas tortillas. For now, this is my make do. For everyone else, these are better than the store bought. Prep time- maybe 5 minutes. Cook time- 15 minutes for all of them. This should be your last step before dinner because you want to serve these warm. After cooking each tortilla, I placed them in a tortilla keeper with a towel wrapped around them. They were nice and warm 30 minutes later when the man came home to eat.

Easy Homemade Flour Tortillas
Recipe Courtesy of Sirena on Cooks.com

4 Ingreditens:

3 cups of flour

1 tsp. salt

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1 cup warm water

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl to form a dough. Pinch 1-2″ pieces off at a time and roll them flat with a rolling pin. If you have a tortilla press, use that.

Place a frying pan over medium high heat. Lay your flattened dough on the hot pan and and cook until you see the dough start to brown. It will look like this:

Flip it and cook the other side.

We filled our tortillas with seasoned chicken, peppers, avocado and cheese.

We also had a jar of last summer’s salsa and tortilla chips.

Muy Beano! These are seriously quick and easy to make. On a difficulty scale I would give these a 1 (10 being the most difficult).

2 thoughts on “Homemade flour tortillas

Leave a Reply

