Menu Plan Monday

 

 

It’s Monday. It’s also the first day of the 2012/2013 school at our home! Welcome to 2nd grade and 4k Thing 1 and Thing 2.

We had a great weekend together. The man and I purposefully spent one on one time with each child doing things that we knew they wanted to do.

Thing 1 & Thing 2 helped to make a wipes case for Thing 4.

We also made some snack necklaces for this week’s snack time. I wanted their first week of school to be fun. I saw a picture of these snack necklaces on Pinterest and she said she used them for car rides. I thought this would be an awesome idea for snack time for many reasons. The primary reason is, they are already put together. I don’t have to take the time to put together everyone’s snack. I can grab them, bring them to the school room, pass them out and we can keep going!

This is what we used to make ours.

They had fun eating the food while stringing it.

We made 6 of them and put them in a freezer bag so they are ready to go for next week.

I have been so busy organizing the school room and getting things ready for this week! Another idea that I stole from Pinterest this week was this. I purchased the file for $5 via paypal. I started to make it myself, but for $5 and 65 pages of this stuff, I decided to bite the bullet and spend the $5. I decided not to go the route of the page protectors and instead had my pages laminated and bound in a book. I know Thing 3 (who this is for) all too well to know that the pages would stay in the page protectors all of 2 minutes. He is going to love having his own “school work.” This will be rotated into his schedule of stuff to do to keep him busy while I teach the other two. I have more than a few ideas pinned on Pinterest for Toddler boredom busters to keep him busy and rotate along with toy time. Follow me on Pinterst to see what I have up there on my boards. Follow Me on Pinterest

Source: playathomemom3.blogspot.com via Tara on Pinterest

I will/plan to post an updated post on how our schoolroom/playroom turned out. Just not this week. I am also going to have to push the chore post out another week unless I get more time this week. I am trying to take it easy with the first week of school.

Here is our menu plan for this week. Pretty much all crock pot meals to make my first week a little easier!

Dinner menu:

1) Slow Cooker homemade Minestrone soup and corn bread

2) Slow Cooker Pot Roast and rice

3) Slow Cooker loaded baked potato soup

4) Chicken with rice, broccoli and scallions

5) Pocket Pasties (I am going to make them like mini-empadas)

6) Spaghetti and meatballs

7) Slow cooker Ribs and cheese potato rounds (Carry over from last week’s menu plan)

Thing breakfast menu:

Oatmeal breakfast cookies

Stuffed breakfast biscuits

cereal

Things lunch menu:

Roast beef sandwich with cream cheese, carrots, goldfish

Pinwheels, carrots, veggie chips

Quesadillas, black tortilla chips, oranges

Ham and cheese skewers, celery and grapes

Things snack menu:

Snack necklaces

Fig Newtons

Popcorn

Rice Krispy Treats

Monkey Munch

Leave a Reply

