Greek Potatoes! Growing up deprived of Greek Goodness!

When I was growing up, there was only one Greek restaurant in our town. It was called Niko’s. I LOVED Niko’s food. I think we all did. The only other time you could get good Greek food was at the Greek Festival held once a year. Getting take out from Niko’s was like going to Chuck E Cheese in my eyes. My mouth would drool over the smell of their chicken and potatoes. I also remember their baklava, but my favorite was the chicken and potato plate. They eventually closed. I was too young to remember why, but I do remember being devastated. Where and how would we get Greek food?! I, and the rest of the town ended up having to wait for that yearly Greek Festival to get our fix. When that sign went up showing the dates, I am sure their phones were ringing off the hooks with food reservations! I would eat there every night until it ended.

After I learned to cook, I searched for a recipe similar to those potatoes. This is the closest that I have come to replicating what I remember as being the best potatoes I have ever had. When I make these, I make them in bulk. No matter how many I make, they don’t last more than a day. When my sister and I lived in the same town, I knew if I wanted her to come over or babysit for me, I could entice her with Greek potatoes. She would happily swing by and help me polish off a pan, taking whatever leftovers there were home with her as payment for gracing me with her time and helpfulness. Let me give you some advice, if you like Greek food, more specifically, Greek potatoes, do yourself a favor and stick to the measurements in my recipe. Don’t halve it because you think it will be too much for your family.

The more you make this, the more you will make it your own. You will learn exactly how much garlic or lemon juice you like. One more tip about this recipe. I often throw in a few chicken breasts in the same pan and let them cook in the second round of baking with the potatoes until the chicken is done. It’s a deliciously easy one pan meal.

So, are you ready for this?

Greek Potatoes

Adapted from Greek.Food.Com

What you will need:

  • About 11 small red potatoes washed, cut up and with the skins on
  • 1 small spoon full of  Minced or freshly pressed garlic
  • 1 small spoon full of Basil blend (this tube of fresh basil is found in the salad section of your grocer)
  • 1/2 cup of Olive oil
  • 1 cup of water
  • Between 1- 1/12 tbsp Oregano
  • 1/2 cup of lemon juice
  • Sea salt and pepper

Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees.

In a large baking dish, add your sliced potatoes and garlic. This is how much I add to our batch.

 Next add your Basil blend. I just squirt a good spoon full in there. They sell an olive oil that already has the basil blended in, but when I don’t have it on had, I use this instead.

Add your olive oil, lemon juice and water.

Again, I am really bad about measuring which is why I take pictures 🙂 This is how much Oregano I use.

Give it a good stir making sure to coat all of your potatoes with that goodness. Add sea salt and pepper. It should be looking like this.

Now carefully place those into the oven. You won’t want to have an accident and dump my precious to the floor. You will be sorry  you missed out. Keep this in the oven for 40 minutes. When you timer goes off, remove them from the oven and take a look. They will look similar to this.

Give them a good stir to re-coat the dry potatoes and rotate them in the pan. If you notice that the liquid is drying up, add 1/2 cup of water and 1/2 cup of lemon juice. It’s also time to add a little more sea salt, pepper and Oregano. Pop them back into the oven for 40 more minutes. When the timer is done, you may freak out if you see a bunch of them look a little brown. Trust me, the browner, the better. The originator of this recipe said you could not  over cook these. She is right. They are good crispy!

Sit down with your stretchy pants and feast like it’s Thanksgiving. Anytime I make these with chicken, I never ever touch anything else on my plate until the first serving of these are gone. I simply can’t help myself. They are SO delicious!

 

This is the last post of the week. Next week look for a post on how I recovered our chairs, a review of the  Pinterest Veggie wash, and a recipe for homemade Minestrone soup!

Leave a Reply

