Vicki’s Homemade Minestrone Soup

This is a super easy, filling soup that my friend Vicki Pauli, from Texas, gave me the recipe to. This is her creation and it’s a recipe you will want to try out. She is the same person who gave me the Best.Ever.Lasagna. Anytime she posts something and says it’s hers I usually try it out because she has never let me down. As we draw closer to fall, I know you will want to have this soup recipe in your recipe box! This recipe makes a very large batch. Large enough to feed our family of 5 twice. We froze our left overs and I am so happy we did so I could use them on a night when I didn’t want to be in a hot kitchen.
Minestrone Soup
What you need:
1 whole chicken or 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 large can of crushed tomatoes
1 bullion cube
1 can of diced tomatoes
1 can of tomato paste
1 bag of mixed veggies (I use Bird’s Eye mixed vegetables for soup found in the frozen vegetable section)
1 box of shell pasta
2 tbsp Italian seasoning
salt and pepper
First season your chicken with salt and pepper and carefully place it in a large stock pot of boiling water. Boil your chicken until it is cooked all the way through. I usually let mine boil for about 30 minutes to 45 minutes depending on how thawed it was and how many breasts I am cooking. Once it is cooked, remove it from the water to cool and add your bullion cube to the same pot you cooked your chicken in. While your chicken is cooling, add your crushed tomatoes, diced tomatoes, tomato paste, and mixed veggies into the stock pot. Let that simmer for a bit while you shred your chicken. Then add your box of pasta and your shredded chicken to the stock pot. Season with Italian seasoning, salt and pepper. Let it slow simmer until the pasta is tender and cooked. Give it one last taste test to make sure your salt and pepper ratio is ok and serve with a side of corn bread.
If you make this soup, please let me know. I know you will love it and would love to give her the feedback. Thank you Vicki for sharing once again!
One thought on “Vicki’s Homemade Minestrone Soup

  1. Pingback: Menu: Homemade Tomato Soup.. | Snaps and Stuff

Leave a Reply

