Soggy Chicken Recipe

Soggy chicken? I know, it sounds really grose! It’s the name my sister and I gave this dish when we were young. Years and years ago when these oven bags first hit the market, moms were coming up with all sorts of creative dishes to cook in them. My grandmother thought it would be great to throw a whole chicken in . So she did, along with some vegetables. She would cook it long enough that the chicken was literally falling off of the bone. We loved what we called the soggy pieces. The pieces that were so tender and juicy that they would melt in your mouth. I make this every so often when I want to stretch the chicken out into a few meals. You can season the chicken any way you want and throw whatever you want into the bag. The key is get the chicken cooked to a point where it is falling off of the bone good!

Soggy Chicken
What you need:
Oven bags
1 tbsp flour
1 whole cut up fryer chicken
potatoes
carrots
seasonings of choice
I used Paprika, Onion Powder, Salt and Pepper, and Fajita Seasoning

Open your oven bag and follow the directions on the back of the box. Add 1 tbsp of flour to your bag. Shake your bag really good and place your bag on top of a broiler pan. After seasoning your whole chicken, start adding the pieces to your bag. You could use a whole chicken that’s not cut up, but I like the convenience of it already being cut up for me. Add whatever vegetables you want now. I just threw in some carrots and sliced potatoes. Had I not been in such a rush, I would have added in some celery, onion, and bell pepper as well. The day I made this we came home from running an errand really late and it was already 4:45. Once you are done filling your bag, use your bag tie and close it. Make sure that the bag is not hanging out over the pan. I tuck all of the sides in under the chicken. Cut six slits at the top of the bag to keep the bag from exploding. The directions for this should be on the back of your box. Place in the oven at 350 degrees and cook until the chicken is cooked through.

I cooked mine for 1 hour at 350 degrees. My chicken was thawed, not frozen. If I had had time, I would have left it in there for a half hour more just to get that chicken really peeling itself away from the bone. The potatoes and carrots come out so buttery and full of flavor when cooked like this! You won’t be disappointed!

Enjoy! Stay tuned to part 2 and part 3 of this post to see what I meals I made with the two large chicken breast

Leave a Reply

