Chicken In A Biscuit

Ever make something and say to yourself, “You did good, mamma!” No? Me either. Tonight (which by the time you read this post will be a week or two from now) I threw these together, hopeful of a good end result. I have been making these using different fillings for a year or two. Everyone has a recipe for them and calls them different names: Chicken empanadas, Chicken bites, or Chicken bundles. I am calling mine Chicken In A Biscuit. Why, I don’t know. Seemed like that is what it should be called. So, what is in this chicken in biscuit? Glad you asked. This is part of a three part post from an original recipe called Soggy Chicken. I used half of the chicken from that meal to make two meals. This is one of the meals and Chicken and Dumplings is the other. So in this post, we will assume that your chicken is cooked.

Chicken In A Biscuit

What you need:

  • Cooked chicken breast
  • 1 can of Crescent rolls or 1 can of biscuits or in the case, both
  • 1 pack of dry Ranch dressing
  • Sesame Seeds
  • 1 block of cream cheese at room temperature
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Spam

The amount of chicken I used in this recipe is probably the equivalent to one very large boneless skinless chicken breast. The first thing that I did was use a food processor to finely cup up my cooked chicken. I knew if I shredded my chicken for this recipe, the filling would be too bulky and would not have a nice consistency to it. Add your cream cheese and Ranch. I mixed this with my hands just to ensure that the Ranch didn’t get clumped up somewhere and that it was evenly dispersed. Once everything is mixed it’s time to fill your rolls.

Lay one roll flat on a cutting board, and with an ice cream scoop, scoop out some of your chicken mixture and place it on the wide side of your roll.

Fold the two corners to the middle of chicken.

Now roll it up.

On a lightly greased broiler pan start lining up your filled rolls, leaving space for the bread to expand as it cooks. Since I had only the one can of Crescent Rolls, I pulled out a can of biscuits. To fill the biscuit, first flatten it out a little with your hand.

Add your scoop to the middle and bring the sides of the biscuits up and pinch together.

When you lay this on your pan, be sure to place it seam side down.

Lightly spray the tops of your biscuits with pam and add sesame seeds, salt and pepper. For the rolls, I baked those at 350 for 11 minutes. The biscuits I baked at 350 for about 13 minutes.

Tada!

I made the biscuit version for the man and I. I forgot to finish adding salt and pepper to this batch. Thing 3 distracted me right before I put these in. We froze 4 large ones for the man’s lunch and I put three of the small ones in the refrigerator for the Thing’s lunch the next day. The Things loved it!

If you haven’t yet, sign up to receive these posts via email! Please be sure to come back and tell me if you make these! Feedback helps keep me motivated to keep giving you more 🙂

Leave a Reply

