A Chili Recipe You Will Want To Try This Fall!

I was finally able to finish decorating for fall this past weekend. One of the things that I do when I start to nest is craft like crazy. I was very busy crafting some fall stuff two weekends ago with a friend. We spent the entire afternoon crafting! Don’t you love when you have friends who have the same hobbies? These are two of the four wreaths we made.

This was one of my must do’s before the baby comes. Why? Because Pinterest put it into my head that I could make one for cheaper than buying one and I really wanted one made with deco mesh so… I finally got that out of my system. Nesting is a crazy crazy thing I tell you. Wether it’s cleaning, cooking, crafting, organization,… whatever it is that get’s you going, that nesting bug will literally make you stay up all night doing it or thinking about it.

I think a house looks it’s best around fall and Christmas. There is something so heart warming about walking into a fully decorated house during the fall and winter. With the decorations comes a longing for cooler temperatures. While I am not suffering in 100 degree weather every day, I could still wish for at least 70 degree weather. Since we don’t live in Vermont (my dream one day), we will just have to pretend it’s cooler outside and bring in the fall foods regardless of the temps because that doesn’t change for us until December. One of of the first foods that I crave as soon as fall hits is chili.

Last year I posted a chili recipe that I loved to make. Well, I have a new favorite right now. This is my friend, Vickie’s chili recipe. She has given us a few recipes for this blog such as her minestrone soup and the best ever lasagna. If you have tried any of her recipes, you can attest to her great taste in food. What I love about this chili recipe is it’s creaminess. It’s thick and hearty without being too chunky. I also love that it is simple and does not call for 15 ingredients- just 6! This recipe makes a whole lotta chili. Sorry, I have been watching Swamp People. I think I have picked up some Orleans slang. Choot ’em! Yes, I am laughing at myself right now. That awkward moment when you realize you are making yourself laugh in a blog post & probably everyone reading it is wondering what’s funny about what you just typed. Back to what I was saying. I like to make this around the holidays when we have a house full of people right before Thanksgiving or Christmas. When I make it for us I just freeze the leftovers for later.

Let’s pull out the grocery list:

2 lbs of beef (or turkey)
2 cans of diced tomatoes
2 cans of bushes chili beans or kidney beans (I only use one)
2 packets of McCormick’s chili seasoning
40 oz of tomato juice

Brown your meat in large soup pot or dutch oven and add your chili packets according to the directions on your packet. Once you have done this step you can continue to make this on the stove top or throw it all in the slow cooker. Add all of the the remaining ingredients and stir. Bring to a slow simmer if on the stove top and let it go for at least an hour. If using your slow cooker, cook on low for 3-5 hours.

I serve this with a side of cornbread, sour cream, cheese and crackers on top! Enjoy!

One thought on “A Chili Recipe You Will Want To Try This Fall!

  1. Pingback: How We Became A GF Family | Organized SAHM

Leave a Reply

