Hearty Vegetable Soup

I have a few quick minutes and I find myself throwing supper together on the stove. Tonight we are having vegetable soup. It wasn’t originally on my menu plan, but half our home has come down with flu-like symptoms and the other half is suffering with allergy issues. After watching everyone turn their noise up to food at lunch I decided I needed to make soup and forgo my other dinner plans.

Soup is such an easy thing to throw in the pot. Usually I go with what’s left in the fridge towards the end of a menu cycle. So today’s soup is literally what I had on hand since it wasn’t planned.

20121219-140025.jpg

This is a picture of my soup. I just got it to a slow simmer and it’s going to stay on a slow simmer until we eat.

What’s in the pot:

2 diced potatoes
2 stalks of celery diced
2 yellow squash
1 zucchini
3 Roma tomatoes
1/4 cabbage finely chopped so they kids will eat it
10 mini carrots diced
1 small yellow onion
1 rib
Lots of water and 4 bullion cubes
About a tbsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper

I may throw in half a cup of rice an hour before we are ready to eat.

That’s it. I made plenty to take us through the next day as we continue to spread whatever this virus is that half of us have.

Now I am off to clean up my dishes. I have 2 little ones napping, 1 lying down while playing on the iPad and 1 upstairs playing video games. It’s only a matter of minutes before someone needs my attention again 🙂

Don’t forget to enter for the 4-pack giveaway of Little Green Pouch! Contest ends Friday!

Leave a Reply

