Gluten- Free Chicken Marsala

Today was one of those days where I found order and peace through cooking. It’s what I do when I am stressed or something is bothering me. I don’t have a lot of time to spend in there anymore, but when I do, I try to make it quick and meaningful. I told you a few posts ago that The Man gave me a cookbook for Christmas. It has a flour blend recipe that they use in all of their recipes. That flour blend has been the very best part of the cookbook. I have made pizza, corn dogs, muffins, pancakes, and breaded chicken with that flour blend. All of which have turned out fabulous. No one at our table even realizes they are eating GF and not once have the Things asked for the old snacks or wondered about the taste. As they say, “The proof is in the pudding,” or in this case the flour blend. Using Kelli and Peter Bronski’s base recipe and flour blend I made an amazing GF version of Chicken Marsala. I can’t give you the flour blend recipe. You will have to buy the cookbook for that part, but until you do, just use a potato flour to bread your chicken with. If you aren’t on a GF diet just use regular All Purpose Flour. Here we go… *said in the voice of Peter Pan*

Adapted from Artisanal Gluten-Free Cooking by Kelli and Peter Bronski

20130110-195801.jpg

1 pack of chicken tenderloin

1 cup GF flour

Salt and Pepper to taste

Olive oil

1 small onion cut into rings

1 red bell pepper

1 orange bell pepper

Mushrooms of choice cleaned and sliced

3 tbsp of GF cornstarch

1 1/2 cups GF chicken broth

About 3/4 cup to 1 1/2 cup of cooking Marsala wine

Place your flour and chicken in a freezer bag and seal. Shake to coat the chicken with the flour. Place the chicken in a heated skillet with olive oil. Salt and pepper as desired. Side note: I have the Presto skillet so I can make all the chicken at once. Cook through. My chicken was not a golden brown on each side because of the flour blend I used. So if you are unsure if it’s cooked, slice it open with a knife. It should be white in the middle with clear juices. Transfer cooked chicken to a plate and add your onion and peppers. Cook until soft then add your mushrooms. These will stay in the skillet until they are also soft. At this point you want to have your chicken broth and cornstarch mixed up in a mixing cup. Pour over the onions, peppers, and mushrooms. Add your chicken and cooking wine and keep it at a gentle simmer while stirring. As soon as the sauce is as thick as you want it, serve.

Find order in cooking, make memories at the table, and feel good about what you are feeding your family as it was made by your loving hands.

20130110-195824.jpg

Leave a Reply

