Gluten- Free Chocolate Coconut Banana Almond Muffins

It’s almost the weekend! Who is ready?
How is everyone doing with the Be My Valentine Marriage Challenge? Has God showed you things about your husband that you have not noticed in a while? It doesn’t have to be an elaborate speech, simply saying, “I’m proud of you. I admire you. You are important to our family.” goes a long way in filling up your husband’s cup. I challenge you to keep it up. Even if you think he isn’t noticing. Next week I will post a new addition to the challenge.

Have any of my GF readers had a Pure bar before? Well this recipe was birthed from one of the Pure bars. Pure carries a banana coconut bar that I really like. I’m still getting used to the texture of the bar, but really like the taste. As I was leaving Whole Foods (I always feel like I need to change into Birkenstocks and burn some patchouli in order to fit in) I was inspired to make a recipe that had the flavor of the Pure bar. I had just discovered Coconut Flour in Whole Foods and bought it. It’s an interesting flour. Very dense. After a few tries with this recipe, I think I have it. I’m still learning about GF flours. A little more complicated than a regular flour. This recipe is not going to be a big fluffy muffin result. It’s packed with flavor and ingredients that will keep you full!

GF Chocolate Coconut Banana Almond Muffins
Author: Tara Norman
3 ripened bananas
1 1/2 cup coconut milk
2 eggs
1/4 cup melted butter
1 1/2 cups coconut flour
1/2 cup GF quick cooking oats
1/2 cup coconut
1/4 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup almonds
1 tsp xantham gum
1 1/2 tsp GF baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 325.
In a food processor combine bananas and almonds. Dump all of the ingredients into a large mixer and mix on a low speed until ingredients are mixed.

Fill a greased muffin pan with your batter. You will want to fill your muffin cups to the top with the batter. We like to use mini muffin tins, but regular is ok as well.

Place in the oven for 15-18 minutes. Bake until set and little brown on top. Serve. I froze these individually and just pull a few out as I need them. Nuke them in the microwave for about 5-8 seconds until hot.

My Things really liked these. Thing 3 traded all of his lunch for six mini muffins. Thing 1 kept stealing them off of my test plates and Thing 2 asked for seconds (never happens). Try these out and let me know your thoughts!

20130123-141841.jpg

2 thoughts on “Gluten- Free Chocolate Coconut Banana Almond Muffins

  1. Pingback: Minus Fourty My Oatmeal: Why I’m Reading in the Man Cave | Naimeless

  2. Pingback: Dream Bars | familyrecipebooks

Leave a Reply

