Crock Pot Stuffed Bell Peppers

How did everyone do with the Marriage Challenge yesterday? The Man loved his Valentine’s and took them to his office to hang up. He sent the Things a text picture showing them where he hung them. Continue to ask God to reveal to you different ways you can help your husband. He will because He has a desire to bless us. This is the last post for this week. Get ready for more on our Marriage Challenge next week! My desire in this is that it blesses you as much as it is me. Everyone have a great weekend!

I have meant to write up this post at least a dozen times over the years. My sister would constantly ask me for this recipe, I finally gave it to her and her husband for Christmas. Ok, so that’s not the only recipe I gave her! I made them a cook book of some of our favorites and her favorites so she could make them for her family. When I first started to learn to cook, this was one of the very first meals I tried. I wanted to impress The Man and felt sure if I could manage this, he would think I was awesome. It’s incredibly easy to put together and it looks impressive on a plate. I am glad I waited to post this recipe because a good friend (hi Rebecca T. from Texas) made these in the crock pot for our family one evening and I had never even thought of that! The best part of this recipe is that this was an easy meal to whip up when we first switched to Gluten Free. I didn’t have to buy anything special. For those of you who are trying to eat healthy or are trying out Gluten Free recipes, this one is for you!

Stuffed Bell Peppers
Author: Tara Norman

4 Green Bell Peppers
1 cup brown rice
2 cups water (for the rice)
1 lb ground hamburger meat
2 28 oz cans of GF crushed tomatoes
2 tbsp basil leaves
1 tbsp onion powder
1 tbsp minced garlic
salt and pepper
mozzarella

Dump your crushed tomatoes in your crock pot and add your seasoning. Turn your crock pot to low and let your sauce heat up while you prep the rest of your meal.

While the rice is cooking (cook according to your package), brown your meat. Season with salt and pepper as desired. I like to shake a little onion powder over my meat as well. Set aside.

Wash your peppers and cut the tops off, being sure to remove all seeds and the stem.

This part is optional, but I take 2 red sweet peppers (when I have them on hand) and mince them in the food processor and hide them in the sauce. I do this because I have two Things that will not eat the bell peppers with this meal. Just the filling. Doing this ensures they get some Vitamins in them.

Combine cooked rice and beef and spoon some sauce into the mixture. Fill your peppers with your rice beef mixture. Set them carefully in the crock pot and scoop just a little more sauce over the tops of the peppers. Cook on low for about 4 hours. Sprinkle your cheese on top right before serving!

Enjoy!

20130128-200216.jpg

6 thoughts on “Crock Pot Stuffed Bell Peppers

Leave a Reply

