Be My Valentine: Marriage Challenge Week 3

Be-My-Valentine-Week-3-207x300

Proverbs 30:18,19 saysThere are three things that are too amazing for me, four that I do not understand; the way of an eagle in the sky, the way of a snake on a rock, the way of a ship on the high seas, and the way of a man with a maiden.”

This week’s challenge, from Women living Well, is to pursue our husbands with a kiss. Ya’ll watch out, I am rare form tonight as I write this post! Before I share my thoughts on how it is going with us, let’s visit a video about our assignment for this week from Women Living Well and see what Courtney and Dr. David Clark have to say about kissing.

Now that we have defined what ways we are not to kiss our husband this week,… Seriously, we are totally guilty of the peck. Right? Who else out there does the peck. Peck in the morning and yeah, that about sums it up unless we have a moment of flirting in between the “I have to poopy! The baby needs a bottle! The dog peed on the floor! And the, I want a snack!” of the day. Other than that, we are in the season of SURVIVE-al. We certainly have let the passionate kissing go to the bottom of our priority list. So, I’m game. Let’s bring on the Chapstick, or Burt’s (whatever you prefer) and get some heat going between those well pencil- lined lips. I, for one, think this is a challenge I can probably get use to. When is the last time you made out with your husband? I know for us it was regularly before and after Thing 1, probably a few times between Thing 2 and 3, then got less and less after Thing 3. This will be the first time since Thing 4. Do you remember making out with your hubby before you got married? I do. That. Was. Awesome. Butterflies and goose bumps! I have a few years (soon to be 10!!) under my belt and know those lips pretty well so I should be able to do this. Shhh! I know! This is not stuff we are supposed to talk about. Certainly not on a blog. Here’s the thing, if we don’t talk about it how are we going to know we need to step up our game as wives? Let me tell you sister, there is always someone willing to do the job you aren’t as his wife. Check out how many times in Proverbs it warns the husband to be on guard for that kind of woman. And we all know what kind of woman I am talking about.

What have you realized about your spouse or yourselves? I was driving home the other night and was on the phone with my sister. She was wondering when the next challenge was going to be posted, and we started talking about how we were doing with the challenges. She told me her struggles and I told her mine. I have realized a lot. I have some junk to clean up. I realized the first week that it is extremely difficult for me to give verbal praise to my husband. To others about him, not a problem, but to his face just between us it was difficult. Not because I don’t feel like he deserves it, but because it’s not natural for me. I sing his praises in my head. I will write them out in a status update on Facebook or on my blog, but to physically say it was harder. The Man is going to make a guest appearance on the blog this week to tell you about how he felt about the first challenge. I think the first challenge was HUGE in a lot of ways. I want to revisit it and take more time going through that one and why it was so important. Take away number one: become comfortable giving praise verbally to those who need and deserve it. Week 2’s challenge about showing your husband you love him in creative ways came a little easier for me. I was able to find things that I knew he needed to get done and do them for him. This one has always been easier for me. However, every time I made progress, the devil would show up. For me it comes in the form of organization. Again, I am going to be real here. I can’t stand his dresser. Can not stand it! He piles stuff on top of it and in his mind it’s organized because he knows where his stuff is in those piles. So one minute I am all “I love you, you are an awesome father, a great provider, a wonderful husband!” and the next I’m, “Seriously? Could you please clean that up? Stop collecting books!! YOU HAVE A KINDLE!!” Now I know I can’t be the only one that was doing this the past three weeks! That being said, as we go into our final 2 weeks of this challenge, let’s pray for each other and our marriages. Marriages are under attack more than ever. Generations are affected by the atmosphere we create in our homes and with our husbands every day. Let’s give the devil something to talk about, contemplate, but not break. Find love this week. Reconnect. Pray.

The final week is next week! I am not ready to end! Also, please do me a favor. If you are doing this challenge with me, please comment below so I (we) know who to pray for this week! Calling each other out by name in prayer is powerful. Thank you!

3 thoughts on “Be My Valentine: Marriage Challenge Week 3

Leave a Reply

