Roasted Sweet Potato

I grew up in the south. Ya’ll know that. What I am about to tell you may shock you. I’m not proud of it, but it is the truth. Ya’ll ready? I HATED SWEET POTATO…. until now. All of my southern friends are like, “WHAT?! Not even sweet potato casserole?” Puts head down in shame. Not even sweet potato casserole. I grew up watching everyone eating it one way: with cinnamon and butter. Don’t get me wrong ya’ll. I love some butter and cinnamon, but on BREAD! I mean, that’s like asking me to put sugar in grits. Mind blowing to me. So I tried them roasted and everyone said, Amen. Angels came out to sing and my children ate of the orange food group once again. They haven’t seen that stuff since they were six months old. You laugh. I tell you the truth. So, how does one roast some sweet potato. Glad you asked.

Roasted Sweet Potato
Author: Tara Norman

Ingredients

  • 2 Sweet Potoates
  • 1/2 small onion
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375
  2. Peel sweet potato and dice
  3. Dice onion finely
  4. Place both in an oven safe dish
  5. Pour olive oil over the potato and onion mixture. Using a spoon toss to make sure all of it is coated well
  6. Add salt and pepper as desired
  7. Bake for 1 hour
  8. Enjoy!

20130327-193929.jpg

One thought on “Roasted Sweet Potato

  1. Pingback: cheesy roasted root pie | Life with Lizzi

Leave a comment