Homemade Bagels

I love to make bread. There’s something very romantic about having a house smell of freshly baked bread. So when I saw my friend over at Just Makin’ It had made these bagels, I knew I had to try them. The Things have been eating me out of my home lately. I spent $20 at the grocery store just replenishing our milk and bread supply for the next week. I can’t do much about the milk, but the bread I can make myself. I have made rolls, loaves of bread and now bagels for their breakfast. Making bagels was on my cooking bucket list. I have separate bucket lists per hobby. I have a sewing bucket list: things I must learn to sew before I kick the bucket. A cooking list: things I must make or bake before I kick the bucket. A life list: things I must do before I kick the bucket…. and so on. Y’all we only have this one life and I am hoping and praying God will return very soon so I am trying to cram as much in as I can quickly before I head on up with Him.

My kids like the raisin and cinnamon. I love Everything bagels. With this easy recipe, I whipped up two batches: one of each.

It’s really no harder than making regular bread. You make your dough, add in your toppings (raisins (I used Golden), cinnamon, garlic, onion, cheese poppy-seed your choice), separate it, let it rise, boil it then bake it. There was only one thing that I learned to omit in her recipe: her step 4 she says to,

“Divide and shape into 12 balls. (For larger bagels, make only 8 balls.) Allow to rest for 5 minutes.
5. Bring 2 quarts of water to boil. Make a hole in each ball of dough and pull open about 2 inches, making a bagel shape. Place the shaped dough onto a cookie sheet and cover for 10 minutes” (TAMMY’S RECIPS.COM)

Instead of dividing into balls I went ahead and shaped into bagels and I let it rise for 15 minutes. I came out with prettier, fluffy bagels doing it that way. Other than that one step, I followed her directions to a ‘T’.

My dough right before I kneaded in my cinnamon and raisins. I used about tbsp of cinnamon initially and about a 1/2 cup of raisins.

After separating and shaping the dough, let it rise again and then boil it for a few seconds.

Then brush egg white on them and bake them. Tada!

I froze the Everything bagels individually since the man and I are the only ones who are going to eat these. I froze the cinnamon and raisin bagels in sets of 3 (for the Things) and a few singles for the man. I just took out one to thaw for the man’s breakfast in the morning. After I took these out of the oven, we were loading them with butter and tasting them. The man said my bagels were better than Panera. I’ll take a compliment like that any day.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Bagels

  1. Yes! It’s already time to make more bread. They went through one whole loaf in a day. I think mine must be in the middle of a growth spurt. #1 is getting 2nd’s and 3rd’s lately & #2 & 3 only stop to sleep 🙂

Leave a comment